Skip to content

Signs to Pacifica

May 25, 2010

Being one who grew up in a small town surrounded by farmland and gravel roads, plopping myself in the Bay Area was quite a refreshing culture shock. I adore the sense of chaos associated with “city life” and am in awe every time I cross the Bay Bridge. Yet, a part of me misses the ease of seclusion found in Idaho. I find peace being alone in my car and alone on the road-not something so easily obtained where I am now. My friend Matt gave me a book, Lonely Planet’s California Trips, and whenever I open it I can’t put it down. From short day trips to extensive coastal drives, this book has provided me with plenty of inspiration to last me the year. Last week, I was lying in bed flipping through the pages when I noticed Pacifica making regular appearances. The short paragraph designated to the often foggy, commuter nest wasn’t very intriguing so I moved on. After 30 minutes of skimming and desperate for a Saturday adventure, I decided to take my chances and set my sails to the next random page. I closed my eyes, flipped the pages under my thumb, stopped- and to add some spice to my impetuousness-turned just one more page. PACIFICA. I’m a girl who believes in signs and pays close attention to those small (sometimes minuscule) sparks of opportunity. I put the book down and set my alarm for 7.

Somewhere in the night my spontaneity faded. Saturday morning came and I decided that Half Moon Bay would my destination. A small town with a comfortable vibe, HMB has remained a place where my bravery shines. Equipped with the Pentax, a notebook, ranch Munchies, Peets coffee and $30, I hit the road. Otis Redding was my man of the hour as he provided pure bliss and inner smiles throughout my hop, skip, and jump into HMB. When I arrived, I immediately went to the HMB Coffee Company for my second soy latté of the day. Perfecto! I spent the next hour passing through the many charming stores on Main Street (The Paper Crane, Tokenz, Music Hut, Kelly Street Gallery) and wandering off onto the blossoming residential side streets I hadn’t explored before. Last, I visited the HMB Farmer’s Market-small in size but dense in organic produce, homemade body products, creative souls and smiling faces. This is where I met Debby, the creator of Gaia Essentials-a purely handmade, natural skincare line. While I stuck my nose in every lotion bottle and bar of soap, Debby explained her products, her company, and her home to me. Moss Beach was 6 miles away, she said, a small (pop. 400) beach town complete with sea lions, surfers, the Fitzgerald Marine Reserve and world-famous Moss Beach distillery. I couldn’t pass up the short Highway 1 jaunt. I purchased a bottle of chamomile/neroli skin lotion and a bar of lavender/mint soap, snatched a brochure and went back to the car.

With Half Moon Bay behind me and the ocean at my left, a sign approached. Moss Beach 6 miles, PACIFICA 11 miles. Of course, I laughed. I’ve never been good at reading a map or judging distances-I thought Pacifica was at least an hour north. Nope. Long story a little less long, I followed the signs, drove those 11 miles and found a surfer-studded stretch of beach. I took a couple pictures, wrote a few words and then just simply sat. Silently, I watched the surfers attack the waves and brave the freezing wind for 2 hours.  Finding a place (physically and mentally) where you are able to just be is extremely rewarding. I left Pacifica with a tremendous sense of calm and confidence in my ability to wander freely, alone and be completely still.

photos shot with Pentax K1000, film.



5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2010 5:10 am

    I never find much to do in Pacifica.
    The Taco Bell at the beach was once featured as one of America’s best eating spots, since you can walk up to it from the beach with your surfboard.

  2. May 28, 2010 7:52 pm

    Your blog kick’s other blogs’ asses.

    Big Sur weekend trip ASAP.

  3. May 30, 2010 1:25 am

    Can’t wait to go there!

  4. July 14, 2010 12:05 am

    a joy to read and view…keep it comin’
    A first cousin twice removed, from CT

  5. August 18, 2010 9:40 pm

    Hey Sally It’s Amber (used to be) Warner. I saw your website on facebook and decided to take a peak and just love it! The main reason being that I lived in the bay area for a few years and my heart misses it, seriously. Half Moon Bay was only about a 15 min. drive from me (I was in San Mateo) and it was my favorite place. I loved the small town feel and I totally know where you’re coming from being the small Idaho girl in the big city! Also, your photography is AMAZING. You’ve really got something going for you. Keep it up and enjoy the bay area for me!

Leave a comment